Notation Software Users Forum  

Go Back   Notation Software Users Forum > Musician community sharing > Share Your Music

Share Your Music Share your .not or .mid files of your arrangements or compositions.

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 09-21-2011, 04:45 PM

Default Chesapeake Swing Band Medley #1

The "Chesapeake Swing Band Medley #1" is a medley of three songs: 1) "Cheek To Cheek", composed by Irving Berlin in 1935 for the movie "Top Hat"; 2) "Secret Love" composed by Sammy Fain in 1953 for the musical "Calamity Jane"; and 3) "Too Close For Comfort" composed by Jerry Bock, Larry Holofcener, & George David Weiss in 1956 for the musical "Mr. Wonderful". The "Chesapeake Swing Band" is a dance/swing band centered in Southern Maryland and headed up by my friend, Jim Meadows.

These songs are old standards (are far as swing dance music is concerned), and I always loved to play them, back when I was a working musician. As I had never written arrangements for these songs, and they fit the genre of music played by Jim's group, I decided to make a medley of them for him. This is a little bit of a change of plans for me -- I haven't finished keying in the last of my arrangements from the '60s yet (one more to go), but I needed a break to try something new.

The instrumentation is standard for a swing/dance band: 5 Saxes (2 Altos, 2 Tenors, Baritone); 4 Trumpets; 4 Trombones (3 Tenor, 1 Bass); and Rhythm Section (Electric Guitar, Piano, Bass, Drums). Actually, you won't hear much piano in this, as the piano part is mostly chord symbols.

You can play the attached original .not file, or go to BoxNet to hear the mp3 file, as it would sound on my Yamaha Clavinova CVP-405. Go to:

http://www.box.net/shared/sbal7mvl77npf53m4iog