Notation Software Users Forum  

Go Back   Notation Software Users Forum > Musician community sharing > General music tips and questions

General music tips and questions Ask questions or share tips about instruments, playing, writing music, or other music-related topics.

Old 06-12-2017, 04:40 AM
Active User

Default Anything a newbie should know?

Hello Everyone,

I'm Rob, from the Capital of Australia, Canberra, where it's cold.

I think I may have just found the right notation software for me. I only have the trial version now, but I think I love Composer 3 already.

I'm been making music for over 40 years and am reasonably up to date with music technology. I have tried most of the leading DAWS, and notation programs, and hopefully, NS Composer 3 will help me get my music written down so others can enjoy.

I have been using StaffPad for a few years if you have seen it yet, it's pretty amazing. But it really only works with a MS Surface Pro 4. http://staffpad.net/

What I'd like to know, are there things a newbie should know about Composer 3 before I buy it?

I've had a look around and tried out several functions, but of course, it's limited with the trial version.

I did notice that it did not translate my midi file as well as some other programs do; such as, it didn't set the tempo correctly. I had one piece at 70 bpm, but it brought it in at 120 bpm, any thought?

My DAW is Mixcraft 8. I compose mainly post-classical and jazz, that's why I use Mixcraft. Here's my sounds, if you are interested. https://robjkennedy.bandcamp.com/

I hope to talk to many of you soon.

Cheerio

Rob
Old 06-12-2017, 09:48 PM

Location: Balderson, Ontario, Canada, 100 kms (60 miles) from Ottawa
Default Re: Anything a newbie should know?

Hello, Rob:

I'm surprised to hear that you have trouble with tempii on loading midi files. I've never run across any issues like that (and I've been using Notation Software products since before there WAS Notation Software! ).