Notation Software Users Forum

Notation Software Users Forum (http://www.notation.com/vb-forum/index.php)
-   Using Notation Software products with other (third party) products (http://www.notation.com/vb-forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Using Composer as Piano teaching aid (http://www.notation.com/vb-forum/showthread.php?t=2082)

Dale Crossland (bigbeardale) 10-02-2007 02:50 AM

I could use a lots of tips on

I could use a lots of tips on how some of you have used composer as a teaching aid to play piano. I am a beginner on the piano, and struggle with the hands together parts in the Alfreds adult beginner book. I know composer should be able to help me out if I just knew what to do with it ????

Thanks in advance,

Dale

Mark Walsen (markwa) 10-02-2007 06:13 AM

Hello Dale, There are lots

Hello Dale,

There are lots of ways you might use Notation Composer as a teaching aid for learning to play the piano. The best way to use Notation Composer as you learn the piano depends a lot on what method of learning happens to work best for you personally.

I have some fairly strong opinions about what are effective and ineffective ways to learn to play piano or other instruments. One of the things that I believe is most important is to use your ear.

I believe that too often playing an instrument is taught as though it's just a mechanical skill. Sometimes musical keyboard playing is taught sort of like a typewriting skill: see the word (notes), type the keys. Where's the music in that?

My general advice about using Notation Composer to learn the piano is to use it as a tool for more closely listening to the music you want to learn to play on the piano. Get the music in your ears. Get the music in your head. Then your fingers will deliver music from your head to the piano keys. Playing the piano then becomes more than a mechanical skill; it becomes a musical skill.