Notation Software Users Forum  


Go Back   Notation Software Users Forum > Musician community sharing > General music tips and questions

General music tips and questions Ask questions or share tips about instruments, playing, writing music, or other music-related topics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2017, 03:39 PM
rrayner rrayner is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 659
Default Full Screen at Startup

This is really a small item, but it seems recently (over a number of months) that neither the current release of Composer or the Beta open in full screen mode. Is there a startup flag that can be added to the properties that will make full screen the default upon opening?

Ralph Rayner
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2017, 12:17 PM
dj dj is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Balderson, Ontario, Canada, 100 kms (60 miles) from Ottawa
Posts: 557
Default Re: Full Screen at Startup

Hi, Ralph:

I don't see that behaviour with either the 3.0.6 full release or the beta (currently 116). Both open maximized for me.

If I reduce the size of the window manually, then close Composer and re-start it, then the window size returns at the size that I've reduced it to.

If I then maximize the window, close Composer and re-start it, I get a maximized window.

I know you wouldn't miss something as obvious as that, so I'm wondering about a registery flag.

My registery has two possibly related flags: Window State and WindowAndToolBarPositions.

Window State has three entries:
Default: REG_SZ value not set
TrackSetupColsV2 REG_SZ 18,149,46,40,35,35,25,25,104,38,104,182
TrackSetupDlgPos REG_SZ 561,140,951,795

WindowAndToolBarPositions has:
Default: REG_SZ value not set
MidiConfigWindowPos: REG_SZ 0,1,0,833,-1,-1,-8-,-8,1448,868
WindowPos: REG_SZ 0,1,01,01,01,01,08,08,1688,1018

I have a feeling that last is the one that determines startup window size. (Reinhold, please correct me if I'm wrong.)

With Composer maximized when you shut it down, how does your registery compare (that last one in particular)?

David
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2017, 07:29 PM
Reinhold H. Reinhold H. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Utting am Ammersee, Germany
Posts: 324
Default Re: Full Screen at Startup

David,

Correct. The software saves the latest position when it shuts down in this Registry section
WindowPos: REG_SZ 0,1,01,01,01,01,08,08,1688,1018
for the next launch. The previous position here was at (left, top, right, bottom) = (08,08,1688,1018).

Fyi - available with 3.0.6-116 I added a change when more than one monitor is used: in case a second monitor is switched off in a next launch of the software and the previous position was on the switched-off monitor, then software ignores the current Registry settings and opens on the available screen in full mode.

Ralph, please check if the recommmendation of David works. If you see a different behaviour, we need to activate a trace to see what happens.

Thanks

Reinhold
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some Screen Capture questions jss Questions or problems 4 02-27-2017 03:10 PM
Hide part(s) from screen view Briansdad General music tips and questions 1 02-27-2016 01:57 PM
Controlling screen refresh Tim Mariott Questions or problems 5 02-26-2015 12:30 PM
Touch Screen User Interface kknollman Suggestions and feature requests 3 06-18-2014 06:09 PM
On screen antialias for slurs and stems NotationUser Suggestions and feature requests 2 10-15-2010 10:13 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Notation Software Germany GmbH www.notation.com/Imprint.php