Notation Software Users Forum  


Go Back   Notation Software Users Forum > Musician community sharing > General music tips and questions

General music tips and questions Ask questions or share tips about instruments, playing, writing music, or other music-related topics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2011, 09:01 PM
jss jss is offline
Active User
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 31
Default Inserting a new empty measure in orchestral score

Hi,
What would be the easiest way to insert just one empty measure in a multi-staff score. What the situation is is that I omitted a single bar in one of the parts (i.e just one of the instruments) and need insert a new empty measure so that all the rest of that part get moved along to the right.

Afaik NC inserts that new empty measure in ALL the parts (ie vertically) but in this case I just need the one staff to be shifted rightwards.

I tried selecting a region by marking a bar and then tried insert empty measure but I still got that empty bar in ALL staffs.
thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2011, 09:19 PM
Sherry C's Avatar
Sherry C Sherry C is offline
Product Manager
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bad Axe, MI, USA (The Tip of the Thumb of Michigan)
Posts: 2,058
Default Re: Inserting a new empty measure in orchestral score

Howdy,

You are correct that adding a new measure will insert it into all staves.

I'd suggest the following:

1. Use Staff/ Setup to move the staff that is missing the measure to the bottom or top of the lot. This is to get it "out of the way" for some "block" selecting later.

2. Insert the new measure.

3. Use Region/Select to select the "block" of measures starting with the measure just after the new "gap", and going to the end of the score, and leaving out the staff that was initially missing the measure.

4. Edit/Copy.

5. Now Use Region/Select again, and you should be able to change just the beginning measure number to include the newly inserted measure.

6. Use Edit/Paste to paste those measures in - this effects a sort of "shift," although you'll have a duplicate last measure now of all those staves, which you can either clear (Region select, then press Ctl+D) or totally remove (Measure/Delete).

7. Staff/Setup and move that staff back where you want it.

Hope this helps!
Sherry
__________________
Music is to the soul like water is to green growing things.
__________________________________
http://www.beanfieldcastle.net/music.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2011, 09:21 PM
Sherry C's Avatar
Sherry C Sherry C is offline
Product Manager
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bad Axe, MI, USA (The Tip of the Thumb of Michigan)
Posts: 2,058
Default Re: Inserting a new empty measure in orchestral score

oh duh!

I should never, ever, answer a question before thinking it through, and especially not while also listening to a recitation from one of my kids.

You can do the same type of Select/Copy/Paste maneuvering to the single staff, and just copy it all over one measure to the right after adding a single measure to the end of the song as well.

Yeesh.... time to go have a cup of tea or something for me!

ttfn,
Sherry
__________________
Music is to the soul like water is to green growing things.
__________________________________
http://www.beanfieldcastle.net/music.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upbeat Measure acting funny andys Questions or problems 2 03-18-2011 07:34 PM
Meter refuses to be hidden IanMc Questions or problems 10 08-20-2010 08:03 AM
Inserting a rest measure at the start Statue Questions or problems 2 01-23-2010 12:17 PM
Eliminating Time Signature from Upbeat Measure fr4209fr@yahoo.com Questions or problems 1 01-13-2010 10:14 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Notation Software Germany UG www.notation.com/Imprint.php