Notation Software Users Forum

Notation Software Users Forum (http://www.notation.com/vb-forum/index.php)
-   Using Notation Software products with other (third party) products (http://www.notation.com/vb-forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Notation and Halion Sonic (http://www.notation.com/vb-forum/showthread.php?t=32511)

Vandy12 01-31-2015 12:10 PM

Notation and Halion Sonic
 
Is there a way to use Halion Sonic stand alone VST to generate
midi within Notation? It has hundreds of sounds.

Second question. My computers all run thru a Steinberg Digital 824 audio interface that has it's own drivers. I have a MIDI keyboard with limited sounds. So my choice is use Wavetable for the limited sounds it generates or use keyboard to generate limited MIDI sounds. How can I bypass Wavetable, still use the Steinberg interface as output, and use some other whatever to generate MORE sounds than what these two options provide. When I go thru Wavetable the latency is terrible when trying to play notes into Notation. I've tried different buffer settings to no avail. If I could somehow configure Halion Sonic to work as the "go between" between the keyboard and the output, and bypass Wavetable, utilize all the sounds in Halion Sonic, and have it somehow interface with Notation, man that would be pretty cool. Maybe I'm asking too much but if you can think it sometimes you can do it. Any ideas on how to make this work or is it not possible?

dj 01-31-2015 01:24 PM

Re: Notation and Halion Sonic
 
Hi, Vandy:

I don't know the Halion Sonic software specifically, but what you'll probably need to do is install a software midi port that will act as your "go-between" from Composer to the Halion VSTi.

I use two different ones. LoopBe is available here: http://www.nerds.de/en/loopbe1.html and Midi Yoke is here: http://www.midiox.com/

Either are simply pieces of software that redirect MIDI output from one piece of software to another.

In the case of Halion Sonic, it looks like it is a stand-alone workstation, so direct your output from Composer (through the MIDI Device Configuration window) to the software midi port of your choice, then the input of Halion to receive from the same port and set the channels as needed.

If you have latency problems, you may want to experiment with ASIO4All (www.asio4all.com) which can help. I'm not sure if Halion supports or needs it, though.

As to Microsoft's Wavetable synth, it's very good, for a hangover from Windows 95. Disable it in Composer's MIDI Device Configuration and never think of it again.

Good luck.

David

herbert 02-06-2015 07:13 AM

Re: Notation and Halion Sonic
 
G’day Vandy,

The Steinberg UR824 is a high quality audio interface, for professional use. Use only the original, latest updated driver. This positively will give you best performance. The bundled software that comes with it, may give you all you need. I don’t know the software. It seems to be a scaled down “Cubase”, going by its name. Study the hand book first before you get more software.

If you need to use software midi cable connections, I recommend the free “loopMidi” by Tobias Erichsen of www.tobias.erichsen.de. This is the ultimate. If you need a midi host, I recommend “bidule” by www.plogue.com. Low cost, very capable and totally reliable.

With the above and “Composer”, you can do just about anything you want to do in music production, at very little or no extra cost.

Best wishes,

Herbert


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Notation Software Germany GmbH www.notation.com/Imprint.php