Notation Software Users Forum

Notation Software Users Forum (http://www.notation.com/vb-forum/index.php)
-   Using Notation Software products with other (third party) products (http://www.notation.com/vb-forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Separating Soloist Part (http://www.notation.com/vb-forum/showthread.php?t=2149)

OldFingers 01-06-2006 02:19 AM

I'm a beginning piano stud

I'm a beginning piano student who uses Band-in-a-box to record my piano teacher to the Soloist part with Simple Jazz Style that uses a drum and bass to set the timing. I'm trying to use Musician (30-day trial) to extract and display the Soloist part so that I can see what my teacher has done and hopefully separate the RH and LH.

So far, if I extract "one part", the soloist part, I only get a melody line splattered over the bass and treble clefs. If I extract "two parts", the soloist and the bass, I see everything my teacher has done, also splattered over the bass and treble clefs along with the bass part. Am I trying to do the impossible? If not, how have I messed up?

David Jacklin (dj) 01-06-2006 02:30 PM

Hi, Oldfinger (I'm sur

Hi, Oldfinger (I'm sure that's not your real name):

It's possible to combine the staves using the Merge Staves option under the Staff menu. That might bring your parts back together.

I'm not sure how BIAB saves its tracks (even though I have the software). Perhaps you might upload an example file here so that we can see the problem.

It shouldn't be too hard to come up with a solution.

David

OldFingers 01-06-2006 04:34 PM

David: Sorry, my name is Bo

David:

Sorry, my name is Bob, but I do have "old fingers". Here is the file I've been working with.

Thanks for the quick response.

Bob<center><table border=1><tr><td>http://www.notation.com/discus/icons/mime_midi.gifMIDI file
Long Ago (and Far Away).MID (28.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Sherry Crann (sherry) 01-06-2006 05:04 PM

Howdy Bob, It must be a lot

Howdy Bob,